What Is The NEWMAC? Here's What To Know

What Is The NEWMAC? Here's What To Know

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is an intercollegiate athletic conference affiliated with the NCAA's Division III.

Feb 28, 2024 by Leanza Pieroni

The Division III offering is growing this fall on FloSports with the addition of the NEWMAC! 

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) is an intercollegiate athletic conference affiliated with the NCAA's Division III. Member institutions of the NEWMAC are located in the northeastern United States - Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island.

Here's everything you need to know about the NEWMAC:

What Is The NEWMAC?

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference, also known as NEWMAC, is an athletic association of 12 selective academic institutions that compete at the NCAA Division III level.

How Many Schools Make Up The NEWMAC?

The NEWMAC currently has 12 full-time members and four affiliates.

What Schools Are Full-Time Members Of The NEWMAC?

  • Babson College
  • Clark University
  • Emerson College
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Salve Regina University
  • Smith College
  • Springfield College
  • United States Coast Guard Academy
  • Wellesley College
  • Wheaton College
  • Worchester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)

What Schools Are Affiliate Members Of The NEWMAC?

  • State University of New York Maritime College (football)
  • Norwich University (football)
  • Simmons University (women's rowing)
  • United States Merchant Marine Academy (football)

When Was The NEWMAC Established?

The NEWMAC was established in 1998 when the former New England Women's 8 Conference (NEW 8) voted to begin sponsoring conference play and championships for men.  At this time, the conference expanded its membership to include Springfield College and the United States Coast Guard Academy. Emerson College became the 11th core member of the conference on July 1, 2013, and Salve Regina University became the 12th core member on July 1, 2023.

The NEW 8 began play in 1985-86 as the New England Women's 6 Conference (NEW 6).  Charter members were Babson College, Brandeis University, MIT, Smith College, Wellesley College, and Wheaton College. Mount Holyoke College and WPI joined in 1988 and the name was changed to the NEW 8 Conference.  After the 1994-95 academic year, Brandeis University withdrew from the NEW 8 and Clark University accepted membership, keeping the NEW 8's membership at eight institutions. 

What Division Is The NEWMAC?

The schools within the NEWMAC compete at the Division III level.

2023-2024 NEWMAC Football Standings

  1. Springfield College (7-0)
  2. Salve Regina University (6-1)
  3. USMMA (5-2)
  4. Coast Guard (3-4)
  5. SUNY Maritime College (3-4)
  6. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (3-4)
  7. Worchester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) (1-6)
  8. Norwich University (0-7)

Who Won The 2023 NEWMAC Football Championship Title?

Springfield College secured its third-consecutive NEWMAC Championship in November as the Pride breezed past SUNY Maritime 51-6.

Archived Footage On FloFootball

Video footage from all events will be archived and stored in a video library for FloFootball subscribers to watch for the duration of their subscription.

Join The College Football Conversation On Social At FloFootball